The faculty

Students of the Master of Advanced Studies in Transitional Justice, Human Rights and the Rule of Law have the opportunity to be taught by leading academics and practitioners in the field of transitional justice.

Christof Heyns

Professor of Human Rights Law at the University of Pretoria

Neus Torbisco-Casals

Visiting Professor of International Law at the Graduate Institute of International and Development Studies

William A. Schabas

Professor of International Law at Middlesex University, London

Frank Haldemann

Co-Director of the Master in Transitional Justice, Human Rights and the Rule of Law

Clara Sandoval

Professor at the University of Essex School of Law and Director of the Essex Transitional Justice Network

Rama Mani

Senior Research Associate at the University of Oxford’s Centre for International Studies and Councillor at the World Future Council

Regula Ludi

Lecturer at the University of Fribourg and University of Zurich

Ahmed Al-Dawoody

Legal Adviser for Islamic Law and Jurisprudence at the International Committee of the Red Cross (ICRC)

Nicolas Mansfield

Director of Legal Programs at the East-West Management Institute

Julia Raue

Transitional Justice Adviser, Sri Lanka, UN High Commissioner for Human Rights

Thomas Unger

Co-Director of the Master in Transitional Justice, Human Rights and the Rule of Law

Eric Steinmyller

Consultant and Trainer on International Humanitarian Law and Maritime Law Enforcement Issues

Sandra Krähenmann

Senior Research Fellow

Christophe Golay

Senior Research Fellow and Strategic Adviser on Economic, Social and Cultural Rights

Fionnuala Ní Aoláin

Dorsey and Whitney Chair in Law at the University of Minnesota Law School and Professor of Law at the Transitional Justice Institute, Ulster University

Nanci Adler

Professor of Memory, History, and Transitional Justice at the University of Amsterdam and Director of Research at the NIOD Institute for War, Holocaust, and Genocide Studies

Christoph J. M. Safferling

Professor at Friedrich-Alexander University Erlangen-Nuremberg

Pablo de Greiff

Director of the Transitional Justice Programme at the Center for Human Rights and Global Justice, New York University

Rita Kesselring

Senior Lecturer at the Institute for Social Anthropology, University of Basel

David Tolbert

President of the International Center for Transitional Justice

Pierre Hazan

Special Adviser on Transitional Justice at the Centre for Humanitarian Dialogue, Editorial Adviser at and Associate Professor at the University of Neuchâtel

Mô Bleeker

Special Envoy and Head of the Task Force for Dealing with the Past and Prevention of Atrocities, and Special Envoy on Peace and Human Security, Swiss Federal Department of Foreign Affairs

Alex Conte

Director of Programme Management and Donor Relations, International Commission of Jurists

Elisabeth Baumgartner

Co-Head of the Dealing with the Past Programme at Swisspeace

Clara Ramírez-Barat

Director of the Auschwitz Institute for Peace and Reconciliation’s Educational Policies Programme

Merilin Piipuu

Managing Director of the Museum of Occupations in Tallinn

Juan José Lozano

Swiss-Colombian Author and Filmmaker

Norbert Wühler

Leading Expert on Large-Scale Compensation and Property Restitution Programmes

Firouzeh Mitchell

Teaching Assistant